Contact for press

You can contact us by:

Marián Ariza Communication Department.

Media Kit

Follow us on:

Keep up-to-date on the latest at the Abengoa website:


The Focus-Abengoa Foundation is awarded the 1st Manuel Sales y Ferré Prize by the Ateneo de Sevilla

March 12, 2012

  • The award recognises the cultural history and contribution by the Focus-Abengoa Foundation to the city of Seville.

Seville, 12 March 2012.- The Focus-Abengoa Foundation has been distinguished by the Ateneo de Sevilla with the 1st Manuel Sales y Ferré Prize in recognition of the cultural contribution it has made to the city of Seville since 1982. The Vice-president of the Focus-Abengoa Foundation, Juan Antonio Carrillo Salcedo, and its Director General, Anabel Morillo León, received the award from Alberto Máximo Pérez Calero, President of the Ateneo de Sevilla. The ceremony was attended among others, with an address by Manuel Ríos Pérez, President of the Engineering and Related Sciences Section of the Ateneo de Sevilla.

The Ateneo de Sevilla started the award, which is in the shape of the goddess Athena, to “recognise the exceptional merits and services provided by people and institutions that make an outstanding contribution to culture”.

The first edition of the Manuel Sales y Ferré Prize coincides with the 125th anniversary of this institution, which was established by the sociologist, historian and Spanish archaeologist, Manuel Sales y Ferré (1843–1910).

During its 125 years, the Ateneo de Sevilla, originally called the Ateneo y Sociedad de Excursiones, has been exclusively dedicated to serving the city of Seville. It has been a cultural, scientific, literary and artistic association since it was founded by Manuel Sales y Ferré in 1887. In addition to organising the annual Epiphany Parade, its initiatives include the Ateneo de Sevilla and Ateneo Joven de Sevilla literary prizes. Furthermore, it was the location that gave rise to the “Generation of '27” group, whose first meeting marked the 300th anniversary of Luis de Góngora. Illustrious politicians and writers have all belonged to the association, such as García Bravo-Ferrer, Blas Infante, José María Izquierdo and Juan Ramón Jiménez, among others.

Focus-Abengoa Foundation

The Focus-Abengoa Foundation was created in 1982 as a result of the cultural work begun in 1972 by Abengoa with the publication of the works Temas Sevillanos (Themes of Seville) and Iconografía de Sevilla (Iconography of Seville). A collection of documents, books and engravings on the Kingdom of Seville and by Sevillian authors was created during the same period. This initial cultural work showed Abengoa’s directors the importance of the company’s involvement in activities that directly benefit society, beyond the firm’s core technology work, which led to the creation of the Seville Cultural Fund Foundation. The Hospital de los Venerables, a 17th century monument and the headquarters of the Focus-Abengoa Foundation in Seville, has housed the Diego Velázquez Research Centre, a leading institution for studying and disseminating the Baroque era and the Sevillian period of this universally renowned artist, since the acquisition of Velázquez’s Santa Rufina by the Foundation in 2007.

Share this news

© 2019 Abengoa. All rights reserved