Contact for press

You can contact us by:

Rocio Castro. Communication Department.

Media Kit

Follow us on:

Keep up-to-date on the latest at the Abengoa website:


Abengoa creates International Advisory Board

June 28, 2010

  • The new board will be chaired by Professor José Borrell, president of the European University Institute of Florence and independent director of Abengoa.

Seville, 28 June 2010. The International Board of Abengoa, S.A has held its first meeting chaired by Professor José Borrell, an independent director of Abengoa.

The International Advisory Board has been created with six members, all with recognised experience and knowledge in the field of the economy and the environment, although it may be upsized in the future to have up to nine members. The current board comprises Professor Mario Molina, Nobel Prize laureate in Chemistry and a Professor at the University of California in San Diego; professor Nicholas Stern, a British economist and academic; Jerson Kelman, a researcher and Director General of the National Electricity Agency of Brazil; Professor Ricardo Hausmann, a professor at Harvard University and Director of its Center for International Development; Pamposh Bhat, an expert in politics, climate change and renewable energy and Kemal Dervis, the former Minister of Economic Affairs of Turkey and Chairman of the Governing Board of Akbank.

Felipe Benjumea, Chairman of Abengoa, said “this Internacional Advisory Board will promote our international development, with the presentation and the analysis of different proposals, while supporting the company’s international institutional relations”.

Members of Abengoa’s International Advisory Board

Professor Mario Molina is a professor at the University of California in San Diego (UCSD). He was Institute Professor at MIT and has held teaching and research posts at the National Autonomous University of Mexico, UC Irvine and the Jet Propulsion Laboratory at the California Institute of Technology. He has also been a member of the President's Committee of Advisors in Science and Technology and of numerous other advisory platforms and panels. He is a member of the US National Academy of Sciences, the Institute of Medicine and the Pontifical Academy of Science. He has received numerous awards for his scientific work, including the Tyler Ecology and Energy Prize, the UNEP-Sasakawa Award and the Nobel Prize in Chemistry.

Professor Nicholas Stern, the British economist and academic, was Senior Vice-President and Chief Economist of the World Bank. He is currently an economic adviser in the United Kingdom. After working for the World Bank, Stern was recruited by the then Chancellor of the Exchequer, Gordon Brown, to work with the British government and in 2003 he was made Second Permanent Secretary at H.M. Treasury. He was subsequently appointed as Director of Policy and Research for the Commission for Africa and in July 2005 he was asked to carry out a review of the economics of climate change and development, which led to the publication of the Stern Report.

Jerson Kelman, a Brazilian civil engineer, was senior researcher of the Research Center of Electric Energy CEPEL and Technical Director of the State of Rio de Janeiro. He was President of the ABRH, the Brazilian water resources association, and the first President of ANA, the National Water Agency when it was created in 2000. He left ANA in 2005 to become Director General of ANEEL, the national electricity agency. He has also been a member of the board of the Brazilian National Council of Energy (CNPE), the Brazilian Environmental Council (CONAMA), the Brazilian Water Resources Council (CNRH) and the UNESCO-IHE Institute for Water Education in Delft, Netherlands.

Professor Ricardo Hausmann, a Venezuelan economist and academic, is the current director of the Centre for International Development and a Professor at Harvard University. He was formerly Chief Economist at the Inter-American Development Bank, where he created the Research Department. He has also held positions such as the Minister of Planning for Venezuela, as a member of the board of the Central Bank of Venezuela and as Chairman of the IMF-World Bank’s Committee for Development. He was a lecturer of economics at the Instituto de Estudios Superiores de Administración in Caracas, where he founded the Centre for Public Policies.

Pamposh Bhat a prestigious chemistry, is the current country director of Perenia Carbon in India, and a UN Consultant for Renewable Energy and Climate Change. She is a membership of the Indian Chemical Society, Governing Council Solar Energy Society of India, Indian Chapter of Theoretical Physics (ICTP) and world Council for Renewable Energy. She was leader of Indo-German bilateral Programme 'CDM India' from 2003-2006 established through an agreement between German Technical Cooperation (GTZ) and the Bureau of Energy Efficiency, BEE (Ministry of Power), Government of India. As Director of Climate Change Unit, GTZ and she was responsible for Preparing Market for Carbon Trading in India, Capacity Building of the Project consultants, Project Developers and creating awareness among the Indian Industry about Carbon Trading & Climate Change issues with Bureau of Energy Efficiency, Ministry of Power, Government of India.

Kemal Dervis, a former Minister of Economic Affairs in Turkey, was responsible for the economic recovery program that helped Turkey overcome the financial crisis of 2001. He is currently the vice president and director of the Global Economy and Development program at the Brookings Institution in Washington. He is also a member of the Board of Supervisors of the University of Sabanci of Istanbul and part of the Istanbul Policy Centre of the University of Sabanci. His field of work and study includes the global economy, growth, international trade, climate change and energy, issues about reserve currencies and the European Union enlargement process. He chairs the International Advisory Board of Akbank and is an Advisor of the Director-General of the ILO.

Abengoa is a technology company that applies innovative solutions to sustainable development in the infrastructures, environment and energy sectors, creating long term value for our shareholders through the promotion of entrepreneurship, social responsibility, transparency and management diligence. Its five business groups of Solar Energy, Bioenergy, Environmental Services, Information Technology, and Industrial Engineering and Construction are present and operate in more than 70 countries.

Share this news

© 2019 Abengoa. All rights reserved