Contact for press

You can contact us by:

Rocio Castro. Communication Department.

Media Kit

Follow us on:

Keep up-to-date on the latest at the Abengoa website:


The Focus-Abengoa Foundation delivers the 2007 Focus-Abengoa Prizes

June 9, 2008

Seville, 9th June 2008.- Today the Focus-Abengoa Foundation delivered the 2007 Focus-Abengoa prizes at a ceremony held at Seville’s Hospital de los Venerables. Felipe Benjumea and José B. Terceiro, presidents of the Focus-Abengoa Foundation, presided over the awards ceremony for the 21 prizes granted by the Foundation throughout 2007, along with Alfredo Sánchez Monteseirín, mayor of Seville, and Anabel Morillo, General Manager of this institution.

Over the years, this ceremony has taken on special importance to the Focus-Abengoa Foundation, which has taken advantage of the event since 1982 to foster contact with all the prize winners, as it remains faithful to its commitment to the training and education of individuals. In the course of 2006-2007, the Foundation has earmarked more than 1.1 million euros to training and educational activities.

In this edition, the following prizes were awarded: the end of studies prize, the prize for research, the research grant, the professional advancement prize, the best doctoral thesis on a Sevillian theme and the painting prize. This latter award, now a longstanding, widely-acclaimed tradition, has been granted for more than 25 years and has become one of the leading European and American prizes within the world of the arts. This year, the Focus-Abengoa painting prize, with a purse of 24,000 euros, went to Ruth Morán for her work Verde pequeña Madera (Small Green Wood). Likewise Cristina Galeote and Kribi Heral each won honourable mentions worth 6,000 euros each for their works Transmutación del mundo concreto (Transmutation from the Concrete World) and Father-Mother Archive, respectively.

The end of studies prizes for students of compulsory secondary education went to Marta López Garrido, Karim Paz Louali and Héctor Zaldívar Escudero; for baccalaureate students they went to Mercedes González Rodríguez and Marina Trinidad Flores; for students of higher level vocational training they went to Juan Carlos Jiménez Izquierdo and María del Pilar Sánchez Pérez. At the level of diploma or university students, Elena Leiva Márquez, Gerardo Fernández Martí and Beatriz González Macía were the winners; and finally, at the level of higher technical schools and universities, the prizes went to Daniel Oterino Cubero and Javier Pérez Jara.

The group of technicians and shift chiefs at the biodiesel plant of Abengoa Bioenergía San Roque, S.A. were awarded the professional advancement prize, an award that was extended to Covadonga García Gómez, María Dolores Medero Fernández and Guadalupe Torres Martínez.

The prize for best doctoral thesis on a Sevillian theme, with a purse of 3,000 euros, was granted to Cecilia Cañas Palop for her exhaustive study entitled Las Armaduras de Cubiertas Mudéjares del Palacio de Pedro I, del Alcázar de Sevilla (The Mudéjar Roofing Framework on the Palace of Peter I in the Alcázar of Seville).

Finally, Manuel Martín Sánchez won the research grant for his study entitled Desarrollos tecnológicos en sistemas de refrigeración por absorción de pequeña potencia activados por energía solar a baja temperature (Technological developments in cooling systems by absorption of small power activated by low-temperature solar energy).

The Focus-Abengoa Foundation was created in 1982 as the outcome of the cultural efforts begun by Abengoa back in 1972 with its publication of Sevillian Topics and Iconography of Seville. During this same period, a collection of documents, books and engravings on the Kingdom of Seville and Sevillian authors was also amassed. This initial cultural impetus led Abengoa’s leaders to realise the importance of going beyond the company’s merely technological functions with activities that would benefit society. Thus, the Fondo de Cultura de Sevilla Foundation was born.

© 2019 Abengoa. All rights reserved